Dear Diary #1: Asics x The Good Will Out Gel Lyte V “Koyo”

IMG_5139

Today I’m introducing something I’d like to call “Dear Diary”. This is not going to be a regular series but something I do from time to time when I have a new pair of shoes to show off.

Today I’m showing you The Good Will Out’s latest collaboration with Asics: the Gel Lyte V “Koyo”.

Over the summer I did an internship with Sneaker Freaker Germany, which made it one of the best of my so far insignificant life (I’ll talk more about it in future blog posts). They told me about this collaboration long before the public knew about it. The shoes released the weekend after I went back to Cardiff for Uni so before I left I asked them if they could talk to the guys from TGWO and get me a pair.

IMG_5146

It took a while but they sent me a pair which is why I want to thank the guys at Sneaker Freaker and The Good Will Out. I really appreciate you looking out for me and sending these my way!

If you’ve read some of my previous blog posts you’ll know that The Good Will Out is my local sneaker shop back home in Cologne, Germany, so I may be a little biased when talking about their collaborations.

But I really like this shoe. Just like the “Autobahn” 577s this Gel Lyte V has a great theme behind it that is reflected on the shoe perfectly. Koyo is a word used in Japanese poetry to describe the burgundy colour of the leaves in autumn.

IMG_5163

This colour is dominant on the nubuck leather upper and complimented by green and yellow accents. The little details are again what makes this collaboration stand out: the leaves print on the sock liner, tongue and insole, and the structured leather on the heel with the texture of a leaf. The green Asics stripes on the side of the shoe feature 3M, which fits nicely into the whole autumn theme.

IMG_5186

I also love that the shoe came with a variety of laces to choose from. The first time I saw these was when I was translating the latest issue of Sneaker Freaker and they had yellow and white laces on them. It was a bad look for them. I went for the burgundy and green laces because they go best with the overall shoe.

These are my first Gel Lyte Vs and I must say that they are really comfortable. I really like how the sockliner hugs your foot (like the Huarache). They have been the canvas for many great collaborations and this one was executed very well. I can see myself wearing these a lot in the future.

What do you think of these?

Let me know in the comments below.

IMG_5146

3 thoughts on “Dear Diary #1: Asics x The Good Will Out Gel Lyte V “Koyo”

Leave a Reply

